Force Friday Live Blog

It’s 12:20 as of my writing, and I’ll shortly be heading over to the Toys R Us in Times Square.  Steve Sansweet, a noted author, collector of Star Wars memorabilia, and curator of Rancho Obi-Wan, is doing a book signing at 2 that I’d like to be present for.  Unless the line to get in is already massive, I’d imagine I’d head back to my dorm for a bit after that before heading back around 8 or 9 to get in line for good.  The thing that has me a bit worried is that the Disney Store in Times Square is also doing an event, and they’re giving away to the first 1000 guests a “D23 commerative fan poster.  If they’re talking about the Struzan piece below, I want it bad.  Only issue is that I know Toys R Us is also doing free giveaways, and I trust them more to have the items I actually want to buy (which I’ll touch on more in a bit).  I may have roped in one of my roommates to helping me out with that.  Time will tell.  Until then, godspeed.

Struzan TFA

12:54: It’s so hot.  Not Tatooine hot, but Geonosis, maybe.

1:02: Just got here.  They’re playing the Star Wars disco theme.  I love it.

1:05: This is new.

 

1:11: The usual Star Wars section has been cordoned off, though the boxes for the new toys are out and ready to be put on display.  Several of these signs around.

 

1:16: Time to cool off.

 

2:12: I was second in line for the signing.  Heading back to the dorm, will post pictures then.

2:15: Decided to head by the Disney Store.  They too are playing SW music.

2:48: I’m back at my dorm.  The signing went really well.  Mr. Sansweet was great, very personable and willing to sign not just the book he was there to promote, but the several books of his I had brought from home as well.  Each had its own unique inscription, which I very much appreciated.  All in all, I couldn’t be happier.  There’s a Lego event happening at 5 PM.  I was originally planning to go back for that, but now I think I might just take a little more time to rest before going back.  I don’t think that the formal line is forming until 9 PM.  I’m going to head back around 7:30 or 8 so I can get a good spot in that, so I can make it to the Disney Store right afterwards.  Wish me luck.

IMG_1778 IMG_1780 IMG_1781 IMG_1782

That last inscription is in Star Wars Chronicles: The Prequels.  It’s a very large book.

7:50: Heading back out, a little later than I would have liked.

8:10

 

8:14: In line.  Pretty good spot.

9:12: Finished the book I brought with me.  Wishing I arrived earlier.

9:39: TIE Pilot spotted in Midtown.

 

10:03: Toys R Us just did their first giveaway

10:30: A kind man in line yesterday just gave me a chilled water bottle: this is a big deal.

10:33: Imperial forces have arrived en masse.

10:35: Not everyone is taking that lying down.

10:49:Awww daaaaaaamn look who just won some trivia!

11:03 Some sorts of wristbands are being given out, upsetting the peaceful order that is this line.

11:08: this Jedi next to me has been interviewed soooooo many times.


11:32: there’s a Hasbro rep near me with a clipboard.  Tell me your secrets, Hasbro rep.

11:55 HYPE IS BUILDING

One minute

12:31: Toys R Us went pretty well.  Poster they gave out was sweet.  Will not get pin at Disney store, will get poster.

1:01: got poster.  Heading home.

1:28: I’m finally sitting down at my computer, so let me go through how it all happened.  I was about the 30th person in to Toys R Us (at least from the main line, but a few had been brought out for some photo op, I believe relating to those wrist-bands, and they got in separately).  When you walked in, you were flanked on either side by costumed members of the Rebel Legion and 501st Legion, who guided you to the escalator to go up.  Unfortunately, as you got to the escalator to go up to the Star Wars section you were held back to prevent a mad rush.  By the time I made it up, the six inch Kylo Ren and Stormtrooper figures I wanted were gone.  I did manage to grab what might have been the last Rey (off the floor, no less), and grabbed a Finn and Chewbacca as well.  I was able to get all of the Titaniums I wanted, though Poe’s X-wing wasn’t on display for some reason.  The Disney Store has a line of diecast figures that I found intriguing, but decided against purchasing.  I did get my D23 poster though, and that has me very pleased.  All in all, it was a good time.  Hope you had as much fun as I did.

IMG_1793

Leave a Reply

