Artist Spotlight: Christian Waggoner

I actually went down quite the rabbit hole when I started to do research for this Spotlight.  Christian Waggoner, an artist out of Atlanta, has captured the hearts of many collectors with his “Reflections” series of prints.  All of them were initially available as prints from ACME Archives, but as I came to learn, eventually he came into disagreement with the company: apparently he wanted to hand sign all of the prints, but Acme wanted to save time and simply use an autopen signature.  Well, apparently Christian stuck to his guns, and ACME was adamant enough against shipping the prints to him to the point where the partnership ended.  Now, none of his prints are available on ACME’s site.  He’s still doing new Star Wars art, and posting it to his Facebook page, but it isn’t commercially available at this juncture.  Hopefully at some point he and ACME Archives will be able to reconcile their differences, because once they do, there’ll be a lot of excellent art available for collectors.  Most of these images were taken from his Facebook page, I Googled a few to find higher resolutions.  Now, Waggoner hand paints all his pieces, which are then scanned to make the prints.  I’ve been trying to find copies of the master scans, but some of these images are just pictures of the original paintings, so be forewarned.

Big Boba Fett

Boba Fett

Boba 2

Boba Fett 2

Boba 3

Boba Fett 3

Vader

Vader

I Am Your Father

“I am Your Father”

Royal Guard

Royal Guard

Biker Scout

Biker Scout

Tie Pilot

Fighter Pilot

AT-AT Driver

AT-AT Driver

These Are Not the Droids You're Looking For

“These Are Not the Droids You’re Looking For”

Storm Trooper by Christian Waggoner

Stormtrooper

Jango Fett

Jango Fett

Greedo

Greedo

Boushh

Boushh

Sandperson

Sandperson: Piece still in progress

See Threepio

See Threepio

Artoo

Artoo

Tidbits

– Usually, when I know the actual name of the piece, I’ll put it in quotation marks.  I wasn’t sure of the names on a lot of these images, as the ones he posted in his store didn’t always match 100% the names I saw on Facebook.  Erring on the side of caution, I only put a few in quotes.

– Speaking of, here is a link to his store.  He still has a lot of his pieces in stock there, though some of the older ones have sold out.  The AT-AT Driver, Boushh, third Boba Fett, and Sandperson were all created after the end of his partnership with ACME, so those have yet to be made commercially available.

– I’ll link to his Facebook page again here.  Christian is great about posting progress pictures of his paintings on it, much more so than any other artist I follow.  He’s also done a few giveaways from the page as well.  I really recommend giving it a Like.

– I do actually have a piece from Waggoner on my wall.  I never bought any of his pieces from ACME (that stuff’s expensive, man), but a smaller print of his Stormtrooper piece came with the limited edition of Star Wars Art: Illustrations (which is also very expensive, but I found at a steep discount).  Despite not taking up much wall space, it always gets mentioned by guests as a favorite.

Leave a Reply

